Who received the NASCAR race yesterday? Full outcomes from Sunday’s Las Vegas race

The winner of NASCAR’s Cup Collection race Sunday at Las Vegas Motor Speedway left little to probability on the monitor.

Kyle Larson led a race-best 103 laps and pulled away to a convincing 3.156-second win over former NASCAR Cup Collection champion Brad Keselowski to win the Pennzoil 400 introduced by Jiffy Lube, his first victory in two years.

MORE: Watch NASCAR dwell with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Beneath is extra about Larson’s win, plus the whole outcomes of Sunday’s race.

Who received the NASCAR race yesterday?

Larson, 28, of Elk Grove, Calif. grew to become the quickest winner in Hendrick Motorsports’ lengthy and esteemed historical past, taking the checkered flag in solely his fourth begin within the staff’s well-known No. 5 Chevrolet.

It was a hard-earned and extremely emotional win for Larson, who missed most of final season serving a suspension for utilizing racially insensitive language. (Ed.: He was additionally fired by Chip Ganassi Racing, for utilizing the N-word in an iRacing occasion.) NASCAR reinstated him within the offseason after he adopted a course of rehabilitation and sensitivity coaching. He got here into the season with the Hendrick Motorsports alternative, grateful and able to redeem himself.

MORE: Kyle Larson suspension timeline

Larson was exuberant talking to the staff on the radio whereas driving underneath the checkered flag because the race winner. He did celebratory burnouts on the backstretch after which once more underneath the flag stand on the frontstretch, telling his staff on the automobile radio, “What a automobile, what a chance. Thanks, guys.”

Simply as Larson was ending his dwell tv interview, Keselowski ran throughout the infield grass to shake Larson’s hand and congratulate him on a strong race efficiency.

“I am simply actually completely happy for him, I do know he is been by means of so much within the final yr and he is a superb child who I’ve recognized for a short while and has a superb household and I am simply completely happy to see him bounce again,” Keselowski mentioned.

Bubba Wallace, the lone Black driver within the Cup Collection, congratulated Larson after the race, as properly.

NASCAR outcomes from Las Vegas

It was a extremely aggressive race from inexperienced to checkered flag with 27 lead modifications amongst 12 totally different drivers. 5 drivers led at the very least 20 laps. Keselowski received Stage 1 and Larson received Stage 2, the primary stage victories for each drivers this season.

In all, Larson led a race-best six instances, working his Chevrolet again to the entrance irrespective of the problem, finally pacing the sphere for the final 30 laps en path to his seventh profession win. It’s his first on a 1.5-mile monitor after 9 earlier runner-up finishes on mile-and-a-half venues.

“It was such an superior automobile,” Larson mentioned. “(Crew chief) Cliff (Daniels) and all people did an ideal job getting ready this piece. It was a lot enjoyable to drive. I may go wherever I needed to. I do know we had a extremely good automobile as soon as we might sort of get single-filed out; however simply drafting early within the run was robust.

“However thanks a lot, Mr. Hendrick, Jeff Gordon and all people at Hendrick Motorsports for the wonderful alternative I have been gifted. Hendrick Motorsports, Chevrolet all people on the engine store. Thanks a lot for all of the onerous work. That is undoubtedly particular.”

Joe Gibbs Racing drivers Kyle Busch — a Las Vegas native — and Denny Hamlin completed third and fourth, respectively. Crew Penske driver Ryan Blaney was fifth, his first top-10 of the season.

Hamlin and Keselowski, who’re nonetheless searching for their first wins of the 2021 season, sit atop the championship factors standings. Hamlin leads by 38 factors over Keselowski and Larson is third.

Place Driver
1 Kyle Larson
2 Brad Keselowski
3 Kyle Busch
4 Denny Hamlin
5 Ryan Blaney
6 Martin Truex
7 Christopher Bell
8 William Byron
9 Joey Logano
10 Erik Jones
11 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
12 Austin Dillion
13 Chase Elliott
14 Chris Buescher
15 Ryan Preece
16 Matt DiBenedetto
17 Michael McDowell
18 Ryan Newman
19 Kurt Busch
20 Kevin Harvick
21 Chase Briscoe
22 Tyler Reddick
23 Ross Chastain
24 Anthony Alfredo
25 Cole Custer
26 Daniel Suarez
27 Alex Bowman
28 Bubba Wallace
29 Justin Haley
30 BJ McLeod
31 Garrett Smithley
32 Cody Ware
33 Quin Houff
34 Joey Gase
35 Josh Bilicki
36 Timmy Hill
37 Corey LaJoie
38 Aric Almirola

Holly Cain writes for the NASCAR Wire Service. Tom Gatto contributed to this report.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.