Did Julius Randle journey? Knicks star leaves courtroom fuming after controversial name in loss to Nets


Like many different NBA followers, Path Blazers star Damian Lillard was watching the thrilling conclusion to Monday night time’s contest between the Knicks and Nets. And, like many different NBA followers, Lillard was left questioning what precisely occurred on New York’s ultimate offensive possession of the game.

OK, let’s break this factor down. Our investigation begins with the play itself…

MORE: Allen Robinson’s “report” on Andre Drummond becoming a member of the Nets has just a few holes

The play

The Knicks confronted a three-point deficit with simply 5.7 seconds left remaining on the clock. Understanding New York wanted a 3-pointer to tie the game, All-Star ahead Julius Randle caught an inbound move, took one laborious dribble and pulled up close to the Barclays Heart brand on the fitting wing.

Randle appeared to go up and down with out releasing the ball, leading to an apparent touring violation. Nevertheless, replays confirmed Nets guard Kyrie Irving cleanly swiped on the ball, which interrupted Randle’s taking pictures movement.

Brooklyn regained possession, New York fouled to cease the clock and James Harden drained two free throws to safe a 117-112 win. Randle appeared to method officiating crew chief Scott Foster after the ultimate buzzer, however his Knicks teammates stopped him earlier than the scenario escalated any additional. Randle was clearly livid, knocking over a chair on his method to the locker room.

The response

When requested in regards to the touring name throughout his postgame media availability, Randle declined to enter specifics, saying it is “finest that I simply do not touch upon the scenario.” 

“I used to be simply annoyed, clearly,” Randle stated. “We fought so laborious to come back again and attempt to win the game. I used to be simply annoyed. That was just about it. However we acquired one other alternative to go at it tomorrow [against the 76ers]. So, simply targeted on tomorrow.”

Irving, who had a game-high 34 factors within the Nets’ victory, thought Randle made a wise adjustment after he touched the ball.

“I used to be both gonna foul early [or defend straight up], however I noticed him lining up for a soar shot. I felt like I may get a great hand on it,” Irving stated. “Scott referred to as journey. I believed Julius made a great play afterwards placing [the ball] down. I used to be gonna foul him after that simply to get him to the free throw line. However yeah, that is the way it seemed. That is the way it went.”

The rule

Right here is the pertinent part of the NBA rulebook relating to dribbling violations:

A player might dribble a second time if he misplaced management of the ball due to:

1. A discipline aim try at his basket, offered the ball touches the backboard or basket ring
2. An opponent touching the ball
3. A move or fumble which touches his backboard, basket ring or is touched by one other player.

PENALTY: Lack of ball. Ball is awarded to the opposing staff on the sideline nearest the spot of the violation however no nearer the baseline than the foul line prolonged.

The reason

Foster supplied a clarification on the touring name as a part of a postgame interview with Bryan Mahoney of The Related Press.

“The defender was deemed to the touch the ball, however not trigger it to be dislodged or free,” Foster stated. “Upon that when the player alights he can’t purposely drop the ball or dribble the ball or be first to the touch after he dropped the ball.”

Basically, the referees decided Irving touched the ball as Randle went up for a shot, however he did not truly trigger him to lose management of the ball. In that case, the rule permitting Randle to dribble once more would not apply.

We’ll have to attend and see if the NBA’s Final Two Minute Report confirms that interpretation.



You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.